Item Details

Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America's Origin

Joseph Kelly
Format
Book
Published
New York ; London ; Oxford ; New Delhi ; Sydney : Bloomsbury Publishing, 2018.
Language
English
ISBN
9781632867773, 163286777X, 9781632867797
Summary
"For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"--
Contents
  • Renegades
  • Tsenacomoco
  • Nantaquod on the James
  • Call of the wild
  • Maroons
  • The American adventure
  • Lost
  • The first frontier
  • Trouble times
  • The kiss my arse revolution
  • Rescue.
Description
ix, [1], 500, [1] pages : illustrations, map ; 25 cm
Notes
Includes bibliographical references (pages 435-451) and index.
Local Notes
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: Original blue boards, black cloth backstrip; dust jacket. Robert and Virginia Tunstall Trust Fund, 2018/2019.
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic

  • LEADER 03788cam a2200517 i 4500
    001 u7784090
    003 SIRSI
    005 20190205152952.0
    008 180602t20182018nyuab b 000 0 eng c
    010
      
      
    a| 2018003587
    020
      
      
    a| 9781632867773 q| (hardcover)
    020
      
      
    a| 163286777X q| (hardcover)
    020
      
      
    z| 9781632867797 q| (ebook)
    035
      
      
    a| (OCoLC)1019931760 z| (OCoLC)1057333193
    040
      
      
    a| LBSOR/DLC b| eng e| rda c| DLC d| OCLCF d| ZVR d| HBP d| DLC d| IGA d| CDX
    042
      
      
    a| pcc
    043
      
      
    a| n-us-va
    050
    0
    0
    a| F234.J3 b| K449 2018
    082
    0
    0
    a| 975.5/4251 2| 23
    100
    1
      
    a| Kelly, Joseph, d| 1962- e| author.
    245
    1
    0
    a| Marooned : b| Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin / c| Joseph Kelly.
    264
      
    1
    a| New York ; a| London ; a| Oxford ; a| New Delhi ; a| Sydney : b| Bloomsbury Publishing, c| 2018.
    264
      
    4
    c| ©2018
    300
      
      
    a| ix, [1], 500, [1] pages : b| illustrations, map ; c| 25 cm
    336
      
      
    a| text b| txt 2| rdacontent
    337
      
      
    a| unmediated b| n 2| rdamedia
    338
      
      
    a| volume b| nc 2| rdacarrier
    504
      
      
    a| Includes bibliographical references (pages 435-451) and index.
    505
    0
      
    a| Renegades -- Tsenacomoco -- Nantaquod on the James -- Call of the wild -- Maroons -- The American adventure -- Lost -- The first frontier -- Trouble times -- The kiss my arse revolution -- Rescue.
    520
      
      
    a| "For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth. We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law. Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians. In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America's earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal. The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could--a story that illuminates who we are today"-- c| Provided by publisher.
    590
      
      
    a| SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: Original blue boards, black cloth backstrip; dust jacket. Robert and Virginia Tunstall Trust Fund, 2018/2019.
    650
      
    0
    a| Frontier and pioneer life z| Virginia z| Jamestown.
    651
      
    0
    a| Jamestown (Va.) x| History y| 17th century.
    651
      
    0
    a| Virginia x| History y| Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775.
    596
      
      
    a| 3 10
    999
      
      
    a| F234 .J3 K449 2018 w| LC i| X032136695 k| CHECKEDOUT l| STACKS m| SPEC-COLL t| RAREBOOK
    999
      
      
    a| F234 .J3 K449 2018 w| LC i| X032561316 l| CLEM-CONST m| CLEMONS t| BOOK

Availability

Google Preview

Library Location Map Availability Call Number
Clemons Clemons contruction area N/A Available
Special Collections Special Collections N/A Unavailable
To request titles normally found only in Clemons, please use the "Request from Ivy" button;
when necessary, use "Request Item" to recall an item currently checked-out to another patron.
NOTE: Neither of these buttons will be present if there is a copy available at another library.