Item Details

Print View

Cutting Teeth: A Novel

Julia Fierro
Format
Book
Published
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2014.
Edition
First Edition
Language
English
ISBN
9781250042026, 125004202X, 9781466839229 (e-book), 1466839228 (e-book)
Related Resources
Cover image
Summary
"One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2014, Cutting Teeth takes place one late-summer weekend as a group of thirty-something couples gather at a shabby beach house on Long Island, their young children in tow. Nicole, the hostess, struggles to keep her OCD behaviors unnoticed. Stay-at-home dad Rip grapples with the reality that his careerist wife will likely deny him a second child, forcing him to disrupt the life he loves. Allie, one half of a two-mom family, can't stop imagining ditching her wife and kids in favor of her art. Tiffany, comfortable with her amazing body but not so comfortable in the upper-middle class world the other characters were born into, flirts dangerously, and spars with her best friend Leigh, a blue blood secretly facing financial ruin and dependent on the magical Tibetan nanny everyone else covets. Throughout the weekend, conflicts intensify and painful truths surface. Friendships and alliances crack, forcing the house party to confront a new order.Cutting Teeth is about the complex dilemmas of early midlife--the vicissitudes of friendship, of romantic and familial love, and of sex. It's about class tension, status hunger, and the unease of being in possession of life's greatest bounty while still wondering, is this as good as it gets? And, perhaps most of all, Julia Fierro's warm and unpretentious debut explores the all-consuming love we feel for those we need most, and the sacrifice and compromise that underpins that love. "--
"The parents include: --Nicole: the beach house is her parents'. She's made sure to be there for the weekend, terrified by internet rumors that something big and bad is going to happen in New York City that week. --Susanna and Allie: the enviable two-mommy couple with twins, they've tied the knot the day they drove out to Long Island; it's easy to reduce them to a modern urban cliche but nobody sees the reality of their struggles. --Rip: the sole dad in the playgroup, desperate to have a second child, but his take-no-prisoners wife Grace isn't on board; after all, they had to use a sperm donor for Hank, so why does Rip even care? --Tiffany: beyond comfortable with her (amazing) body, she wasn't born into the upper middle class world all the others were; she propelled herself from a chaotic childhood to land a nice life; will what she brings to this weekend blow it all up? --Leigh: has hired the magic nanny everyone wants, and has rubbed that in the other parents' faces by bringing Tenzin along. Tenzin, however, whose own children live thousands of miles away in India, sees the parents from a different perspective. As the weekend unfolds and conflicts intensify, painful truths surface. Friendships crack. Two days together in Eden will change the group forever. A warm, smart and unpretentious literary novel, CUTTING TEETH is involving and thought-provoking, for readers of Tom Perrotta and Meg Wolitzer"--
Description
322 pages ; 25 cm
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View

    LEADER 04515nam a2200517 i 4500
    001 u6298996
    003 SIRSI
    005 20140710143105.0
    008 140306s2014 nyu 000 1 eng
    010
      
      
    a| 2014008040
    020
      
      
    a| 9781250042026 q| hardback
    020
      
      
    a| 125004202X q| hardback
    020
      
      
    z| 9781466839229 (e-book)
    020
      
      
    z| 1466839228 (e-book)
    035
      
      
    a| (OCoLC)857982022
    042
      
      
    a| pcc
    040
      
      
    a| DLC b| eng e| rda c| DLC d| YDX d| BTCTA d| BDX d| YDXCP d| CLE d| ZPP d| ABG d| NSB d| OCLCO
    050
    0
    0
    a| PS3606.I368 b| C88 2014
    082
    0
    0
    a| 813/.6 2| 23
    084
      
      
    a| FIC019000 a| FIC044000 2| bisacsh
    100
    1
      
    a| Fierro, Julia.
    245
    1
    0
    a| Cutting teeth : b| [a novel] / c| Julia Fierro.
    250
      
      
    a| First Edition.
    264
      
    1
    a| New York : b| St. Martin's Press, c| 2014.
    300
      
      
    a| 322 pages ; c| 25 cm
    336
      
      
    a| text 2| rdacontent
    337
      
      
    a| unmediated 2| rdamedia
    338
      
      
    a| volume 2| rdacarrier
    520
      
      
    a| "One of the most anticipated debut novels of 2014, Cutting Teeth takes place one late-summer weekend as a group of thirty-something couples gather at a shabby beach house on Long Island, their young children in tow. Nicole, the hostess, struggles to keep her OCD behaviors unnoticed. Stay-at-home dad Rip grapples with the reality that his careerist wife will likely deny him a second child, forcing him to disrupt the life he loves. Allie, one half of a two-mom family, can't stop imagining ditching her wife and kids in favor of her art. Tiffany, comfortable with her amazing body but not so comfortable in the upper-middle class world the other characters were born into, flirts dangerously, and spars with her best friend Leigh, a blue blood secretly facing financial ruin and dependent on the magical Tibetan nanny everyone else covets. Throughout the weekend, conflicts intensify and painful truths surface. Friendships and alliances crack, forcing the house party to confront a new order.Cutting Teeth is about the complex dilemmas of early midlife--the vicissitudes of friendship, of romantic and familial love, and of sex. It's about class tension, status hunger, and the unease of being in possession of life's greatest bounty while still wondering, is this as good as it gets? And, perhaps most of all, Julia Fierro's warm and unpretentious debut explores the all-consuming love we feel for those we need most, and the sacrifice and compromise that underpins that love. "-- c| Provided by publisher.
    520
      
      
    a| "The parents include: --Nicole: the beach house is her parents'. She's made sure to be there for the weekend, terrified by internet rumors that something big and bad is going to happen in New York City that week. --Susanna and Allie: the enviable two-mommy couple with twins, they've tied the knot the day they drove out to Long Island; it's easy to reduce them to a modern urban cliche but nobody sees the reality of their struggles. --Rip: the sole dad in the playgroup, desperate to have a second child, but his take-no-prisoners wife Grace isn't on board; after all, they had to use a sperm donor for Hank, so why does Rip even care? --Tiffany: beyond comfortable with her (amazing) body, she wasn't born into the upper middle class world all the others were; she propelled herself from a chaotic childhood to land a nice life; will what she brings to this weekend blow it all up? --Leigh: has hired the magic nanny everyone wants, and has rubbed that in the other parents' faces by bringing Tenzin along. Tenzin, however, whose own children live thousands of miles away in India, sees the parents from a different perspective. As the weekend unfolds and conflicts intensify, painful truths surface. Friendships crack. Two days together in Eden will change the group forever. A warm, smart and unpretentious literary novel, CUTTING TEETH is involving and thought-provoking, for readers of Tom Perrotta and Meg Wolitzer"-- c| Provided by publisher.
    650
      
    7
    a| FICTION / Literary. 2| bisacsh
    650
      
    7
    a| FICTION / Contemporary Women. 2| bisacsh
    650
      
    0
    a| Married people v| Fiction.
    650
      
    0
    a| Parents v| Fiction.
    650
      
    0
    a| Social status v| Fiction.
    655
      
    7
    a| Domestic fiction. 2| gsafd
    856
    4
    2
    3| Cover image u| http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/026/9781250042026/image/lgcover.9781250042026.jpg
    994
      
      
    a| Z0 b| VA@
    596
      
      
    a| 2
    999
      
      
    a| PS3606 .I368 C88 2014 w| LC i| X031640205 l| STACKS m| ALDERMAN t| BOOK
▾See more
▴See less

Availability

Google Preview

Google Books Preview
Library Location Map Availability Call Number
Alderman Stacks Map Available