Item Details

Print View

The Music of Percy Grainger: Vol. 1, 3-4 [electronic resource]

Grainger, Percy
Sound Recording; Streaming Audio; Online
1 online resource.
Uniform Title
Band music
[Place of publication not identified] : Mark Custom, 2003-2008.
  • Vol. 1. Molly on the shore
  • Lincolnshire posy. "Lisbon" (Sailors song) ; "Horkstow Grange" (The miser and his man: A local tragedy) ; "Rufford Park poachers" (Poaching song) ; "The brisk young sailor" (Returned to wed his true love) ; "Lord Melbourne" (War song) ; "The lost lady found" (Dance song)
  • Colonial song
  • Blithe bells
  • Irish tune from County Derry
  • Shepherd's hey
  • "The Duke of Marlborough" fanfare ("The British war mood grows")
  • Country gardens
  • The power of Rome and the Christian heart.
  • Vol. 3. Children's march (Over the hills and far away)
  • Hill-song no. 2
  • Down Longford Way
  • Mock Morris
  • Australian up-country tune
  • Bellpiece (Now, o now, I needs must part)
  • Marching song of democracy.
  • Vol. 4. The gum-suckers march
  • Tuscan serenade : op. 3, no. 2
  • Prelude in the dorian mode
  • Chorale no. 2
  • The merry king
  • O Mensch, bewein' dein' Sünde gross
  • The warriors.
University of Houston Wind Ensemble ; Eddie Green (Vol. 1, 3), Tom Bennett, conductor (Vol. 4).
Recording Info
Vol. 1 & 3 recorded 1992-1994, St. Pius V Catholic Church, Pasadena, Texas.
  • Title from resource description page (viewed Feb. 7, 2013).
  • Vol. 4. Works written or arranged by Grainger for wind ensemble. The 2nd work orig. for voice and piano; 3rd-4th, 6th works orig. for organ; 7th work orig. for orchestra.
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View