Item Details

Print View

Songs and Airs [electronic resource]

Henry Purcell
Sound Recording; Streaming Audio; Online
1 online resource.
Uniform Title
[S.l.] : Virgin Classics, 2009.
  • O Solitude! Z406a
  • Tyrannic Love Z613: Ah! how sweet it is to love (song)
  • Not all my torments can your pity move Z400
  • Stripp'd of their green our groves appear Z444
  • Tell me, some pitying Angel (The Blessed Virgin's Expostulation) Z196 (Nahum Tate)
  • If music be the food of love Z379 version 3 (Henry Heveningham)
  • The Fairy Queen Z629: Hark! the echoing air a triumph sings
  • The fatal hour comes on apace Z421
  • In cassum, Lesbia, rogas (The Queen's Epicedium) Z383 (George Herbert)
  • Pausanias Z585: Sweeter than roses (Norton)
  • Cupid, the slyest rogue alive Z367
  • From silent shades (Bess of Bedlam) Z370
  • The Tempest Z631: Dear pretty youth (Thomas Shadwell)
  • From rosy bow'rs (from 'Don Quixote') Z578 (Thomas D'Urfey)
  • Now that the sun hath veiled his light (Evening Hymn) Z193
  • Sophonisba Z590: Beneath a poplar's shadow
  • I attempt from love's sickness (fom 'The Indian Queen' Z630)
  • Let us dance (from 'The Prophetess' Z627) (?Thomas Betterton)
  • O Solitude! Z406
  • Nymphs and Shepherds (from 'The Libertine' Z600)
  • Amidst the shades and cool refreshing streams Z355
  • Love in their little veins inspires (from 'Timon of Athens' Z632)
  • Fly swift ye hours Z369
  • The Indian Queen Z629: They tell us that your mighty powers
  • O let me weep (The Plaint) from 'The Fairy Queen' Z629
  • In the black, dismal dungeon of despair Z190
  • See, even Night herself is here (from 'The Fairy Queen' Z629)
  • The Indian Queen Z630: Why should men quarrel?
  • The Indian Queen Z630: Seek not to know
  • King Richard the Second Z581: Retir'd from mortals' sight
  • To arms, heroic Prince (from 'The Libertine' Z600)
  • Bonduca Z574: O lead me to some peaceful gloom
  • The Tempest Z631: Halcyon Days
  • Bid the Virtues from 'Come ye sons of art away' (Birthday Ode for Queen Mary 1694)
  • A Divine Hymn Z192: Lord, what is man?
  • Oedipus Z583: Music for a while
  • If music be the food of love Z379/1
  • A Scotch Song Z412: Sawney is a bonny lad
  • When I have often heard (from 'The Fairy Queen' Z629)
  • Theodosius Z606: Ah! Cruel, bloody fate
  • Dido and Aeneas Z626: Thy hand, Belinda
  • When I am laid in earth.
Nancy Argenta, soprano ; Nigel North, archlute, theorbo, baroque guitar ; Richard Boothby, viola da gamba ; Paul Nicholson, harpsichord, chamber organ; John Toll, harpsichord.
Recording Info
Recorded Oct. 1992, Studio 1, Abbey Road, London.
  • Songs, in part excerpts from operas or incidental music; archlute, baroque guitar, viola da gamba, harpsichord, chamber organ acc., separately or in various combinations.
  • Title from resource description page (viewed Feb. 7, 2013).
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View


Listen Online