Item Details

Print View

The Spirit's Song [electronic resource]

Sound Recording; Streaming Audio; Online
1 online resource.
Uniform Title
[S.l.] : Newport Classic, 2003.
  • Piercing eyes, Hob XXVIa, op. 35 (2:09)
  • She never told her love, Hob XXVIa, op. 34 (3:40)
  • Sleepy bodie, Hob XXII/1:44 [i.e. Hob XXXIa:44] (Scottish air) (2:36)
  • Pleasing pain, Hob XXVIa, op. 29 (3:04)
  • Sailor's song, Hob XXVIa, op. 31 (2:53)
  • The spirit's song, Hob XVa, op. 41 [i.e. Hob XXVIa:41] (5:57)
  • Andante with variations in F minor, Hob XXVII:6 [i.e. XVII:6] (17:20)
  • Scottish air. By the stream so cool and clear, Hob XXII/1:19 [i.e. Hob XXXIa:19] (2:23)
  • The mermaid's song, Hob XXVIa, op. 25 (3:39)
  • Fidelity, Hob XXVIa, op. 30 (4:32)
  • Scottish air. Pentland Hills, Hob XXII/1:33 [i.e. Hob XXXIa:33] (3:57)
  • The battle of the Nile, Hob XXVIb:4 (12:52)
  • Welsh air-duet. All through the night (4:05).
Jean Danton, soprano ; Igor Kipnis, fortepiano (John Broadwood and Son, London, 1796; or John Broadwood and Son, London, 1823) ; D'Anna Fortunato, mezzo-soprano (13th work) ; Julia McKenzie, Baroque violin ; Timothy Merton, Baroque cello.
Recording Info
Recorded in 1993.
  • "World premiere of folksong arrangements for voice, violin, and piano, performed on period string instruments and a grand piano by John Broadwood and Son. London, 1796"--Original container.
  • Biographical and program notes and vocal texts ([12] p. : ports.) linked to from resource.
  • The 1st-2nd, 4th-5th, and 9th-10th works canzonets for voice and piano; 3rd, 8th, and 11th works for voice, violin, cello, and piano; 6th work a song for voice and piano; 7th work for piano solo; 12th work a solo cantata for voice and piano; 13th work for 2 voices, violin, cello, and piano.
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View


Listen Online