Item Details

Print View

Oedipus Rex [electronic resource]: The Firebird ; Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Sound Recording; Streaming Audio; Online
1 online resource.
[S.l.] : EMI Classics, [2008], p2002.
Marjana Lipovšek, alto ; Anthony Rolfe Johnson, John Mark Ainsley, tenors ; Peter Coleman-Wright, baritone ; John Tomlinson, Alastair Miles, basses ; Lambert Wilson, narrator ; London Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir ; Franz Welser-Möst, conductor.
Recording Info
Recorded May 1992, All Hallows Church, Gospel Oak, London (1st work) and Feb. 1993, No. 1 Studio, Abbey Road, London (remainder).
  • Durations: 50:02; 46:18; 9:10.
  • Libretto of the 1st work by Jean Cocteau after Sophocles.
  • Originally issued separately in 1993 and 1994; this compilation originally released in 2002.
  • Previously released as a compact disc.
  • The 1st work an opera-oratorio in 2 acts; the 2nd work a ballet; the 3rd work for 3 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets, 3 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, and tuba.
  • The 2nd work is the 1910 version of the ballet; The 3rd work is the rev. 1947 version.
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View


Listen Online