Item Details

Print View

Scheherazade [electronic resource]: Symphonic Suite, Op. 35

Rimsky-Korsakov. Polovtsian dances / Borodin ; orch. Rimsky-Korsakov & amp ; Glazounov
Sound Recording; Streaming Audio; Online
1 online resource (58 min.)
Uniform Title
[London, England?] : EMI Classics, p1999.
  • Scheherazade, Op. 35. The Sea and Sinbad's Ship ; The Story of the Kalender Prince ; The Young Prince and the Young Princess ; Festival at Baghdad-The Sea-The Ship goes to pieces on a Rock surmounted by a Bronze Warrior
  • Prince Igor, Act II. Polovtsian Dances / orch. Rimsky-Korsakov & Glazunov.
Beecham Choral Society (2nd work) ; Royal Philharmonic Orchestra ; Sir Thomas Beecham, conductor.
Recording Info
Recorded Mar. 17-19 and 28, 1957, Kingsway Hall, London (1st work) ; Nov. 10, 1956, No. 1 Studio, Abbey Road, London (2nd work).
  • "Remastered at Abbey Road Studios and noise-shaped via the Prism SNS system for optimum sound quality"--Original container.
  • The 1st work based on tales from the Arabian nights.
  • The 2nd work excerpts from the opera Prince Igor.
  • The two works were previously released together in 1987 (EMI CDC 7 47717 2), as well as on compact disc.
Technical Details
  • Access in Virgo Classic
  • Staff View


Listen Online